52 Weeks of Gratitude Challenge #1: Why Start This Challenge


thanks-1084770_640

So this is the first week (for me!) to start this challenge and I’m very thankful to be doing it at all after very nearly missing out!

gratitudechallengex-1

As I said in the previous post, I’ve never really participated in such challenges before. But this was one that I felt I should do…

I was brought up to believe that gratitude was everything. I knew from a young age the importance of saying thank you. I was taught to be thankful for everything that you have. As I grew older I learned to count my blessings, and realise I actually had plenty of them.

Courtesy of johnhain at pixabay.com

Courtesy of johnhain at pixabay.com

And as most of us know, gratitude is a quality which is very much in short supply these days. How many people express genuine gratitude when something nice has happened to them? How many people even bother to say those two little monosyllabic words ‘thank you’? Judging by the number of people I see sailing through a door being held open of them by someone kind enough to do so, I’d say not many!

Courtesy of ArtsyBee at pixabay.com

Courtesy of ArtsyBee at pixabay.com

It might be strange to say that we need to practice gratitude when it should be second nature but I guess we all don’t reflect enough on the good things that we have in our lives. And that’s what’s so good about this challenge.

2016 was not one of my better years and that’s something of an understatement. I’m so glad to have left it behind and all the awful things that came along with it. But as I sit here writing this post, I think how easy it could have been for things to have been far worse than it was. So would you believe it – I’m even thankful for the problems that I have!

Courtesy of johnhain at pixabay.com

Courtesy of johnhain at pixabay.com

So as grateful as I am for everything, I hope that by the end of the year when this challenge is over, I’ll have experienced an even deeper level of gratitude.

Best of luck to everyone who’s taking part in this challenge. May it make us ever more thankful, kinder and wiser with it.

Posted on January 31, 2017, in 52 Weeks Of Gratitude Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Lolsys Library

Fun blogs about the wonderful world of books and learning!

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Tea Leaves and Tweed

Tea, beauty, life, and whatnot

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

Clean, Cheat, Repeat

Eating clean or having a cheat?

Coconut craze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

Foood Post

My journal of foood musings and eating memoirs

Life of Bonnie

All the little things that make up my life!

Linda Creation

Food, in the end, in our own tradition, is something holy. It's about sharing, honesty & identity.

Recipes, Recipes, Recipes

My blog about recipes and cooking, topped off with a cup of coffee or tea!

Thistles and Kiwis

A blog about a Scottish woman, who lived in Denmark, and moved to New Zealand

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

That Girl Coffee

side adventures of discovering beautifying and skin helping products.

Suitcases and Lattès

Cape Town based Travel, Lifestyle and Wellness Blog

Chocolate'n'Waffles

Tea, waffles, and lots of books

