Land Of Milk And Honey Hand Treatment


 

My hands are really in a shocking condition and I can’t understand why. Despite applying twice my weight in hand cream, and taking my vitamin E capsules religiously, my hands are extremely dry, rough and look as though they’re in danger of starting a fire if I rub them together! It’s actually quite embarrassing. My hands get used quite a lot in my job as they are always on show so I’m starting to feel more than a little self-conscious.

Feeling low at the dry condition of my hands, I’m considering hitting the bottle.

The milk bottle that is!

 

I’ve had dry skin pretty much my whole life and when I was in my late teens I developed a mild form of eczema. I only have flare ups maybe once every couple of years so I’m quite fortunate. But during periods when my skin is very dry, I use milk on my skin instead of water. It’s very moisturizing and hydrating, and I really notice the difference. After about two days, my skin comes back to life again.

So I’ll be resorting to this treatment for my dry hands but I’ll be using honey as well which is another ingredient I’ve found to be very effective for dry skin. And of course this treatment isn’t just limited to your hands. You can use it for your face, feet, elbows, knees, lips… anywhere where you’re skin’s a bit parched, isn’t looking it’s best and needs a much-needed moisture boost.

 

You can use any kind of milk or honey that you prefer. I generally stick to my favourite manuka honey. This treatment is so simple as it only uses between two to four ingredients, so it’s well worth giving it a go.

MILK AND HONEY  TREATMENT FOR DRY HANDS

 

YOU WILL NEED:

1 tbsp. honey

Enough warm milk to fully submerge your hands in

Pure rosewater

METHOD:

  1. Apply honey to your to both sides of your hands. If you wish you could gently warm the honey before applying it to your hands.
  2.  Leave for around ten minutes.
  3. Then place your hands in a basin of warm milk. Remember the milk should be warm not hot. You want to revive your hands not scald them!
  4. Leave them in the milk for about five minutes or until all the honey has rinsed off.
  5. Once you’ve taken your hands out of the milk, you can either give them a super quick blast with cold water to remove the honey-milk residue (with the emphasis being on super quick.)
  6. Or  you could remove all traces of milk and honey with cotton wool soaked in rosewater.
  7. Slap on lashings of hand cream.
  8. Use this treatment once a day for as many days as you need.

HANDY HINTS:

  1. If you have any discolouration on your hands, rub a slice of lemon over it before applying the honey.
  2. If you are using this treatment for a part of your body that you cannot simply just dunk in a basin of water, wipe the honey of with milk-soaked cotton wool pads.

 

Posted on May 2, 2015, in Home Spa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow lovely tip dear… shall give it a try… 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wooo, it’s coming to Winter here, this will be very useful! I get really dry skin during Winter =/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Tea Leaves and Tweed

Tea, beauty, life, and whatnot

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

Clean, Cheat, Repeat

Eating clean or having a cheat?

Coconut craze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

Foood Post

My journal of foood musings and eating memoirs

Life of Bonnie

All the little things that make up my life!

Linda Creation

Food, in the end, in our own tradition, is something holy. It's about sharing, honesty & identity.

Recipes, Recipes, Recipes

My blog about recipes and cooking, topped off with a cup of coffee or tea!

Thistles and Kiwis

A blog about a Scottish woman, who lived in Denmark, and moved to New Zealand

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Suitcases and Lattès

Cape Town based Travel, Lifestyle and Wellness Blog

Chocolate'n'Waffles

Tea, waffles, and lots of books

