Egg And Olive Oil Hair Conditioner


 

I was moaning to a friend about the state of my hair when she suggested I give my hair an olive oil deep conditioning treatment. “Don’t you ever do that?” she asked, ” Add some olive oil to your hair and wrap a towel around it?”

I used to. A long time ago. In fact I was fanatical about massaging warm olive oil into my hair before wrapping my hair first, in cling film and then a towel. I did this every time I was about to wash my hair. There was no treatment like it and it left my hair soft, easy to manage and very, very glossy. I loved it!

Unfortunately however, you can have too much of a good thing and after two years of deep conditioning my hair, it actually left my hair very dry and straw-like. I couldn’t understand why. It was a beautician friend of mine who explained it.

“It’s good that you deep condition your hair but you’re not supposed to do it every time you wash your hair,” she said. “you’re actually forcing your hair to work harder and that’s why it’s become so dry.”

So I stopped conditioning my hair with warm olive oil. I was disappointed as I loved my pre-bath ritual and enjoyed in a little self-pampering.   However, over the years constant blow drying and straightening have once again left my hair in a sorry state. Although I always use a heat protection spray on my hair before using heated appliances  and have recently had my hair cut short… it’s still not in great condition. So this weekend, following my conversation with my friend, I decided to go back to my (hair) roots and see if deep conditioning it would make any difference.

This time, I did things a little differently. I actually added an egg to the oil before massaging it into my hair. I remember hearing that eggs work as an excellent shampoo or conditioner as it clings to any dirt or impurities in your hair and also helps to strengthen it.

I left the mixture on my hair for a couple of hours, wrapped neatly in cling film and a towel (much to the amusement of Mr. D!) and waited for the conditioner to work it’s magic!

And work its magic it did! My hair was super soft and shiny. I couldn’t stop running my hands through my hair. It’s been a long time since my hair felt this good. I know it’ll take a few more treatments before my hair is in tip-top condition but I also know not to overdo it again and will be spacing out treatments accordingly. Straw-like hair is so not a good look!

Here’s my method for the olive oil and egg deep conditioning natural hair treatment. I only used one dessert spoon of oil because my hair is quite short but the amount of oil you use depends on the length and thickness of your hair.

  • Put a dessert spoon of olive oil into a small bowl.
  • Place the glass in a pan of just boiled water so that it will warm through. Ensure that the oil does not get too hot.
  • Break an egg into the oil and whisk thoroughly  (the oil should not be overly warm or the egg will scramble slightly.)
  • Evenly apply the mixture to dry hair.
  • Wrap head in cling film so that all you hair is covered.
  • Then wrap head in towel.
  • Leave for a minimum of twenty minutes.
  • Wash your hair thoroughly with your favourite shampoo. Make sure you wash your hair in lukewarm water – scrambled egg is very hard to wash out of your hair!
  • I finished with my favourite conditioner but this step is optional.
  • Dry as you normally would.

Voila! Great looking hair. And for those of you who may suffer from an itchy scalp, I’ve been told that mashed banana is an excellent remedy.

 

Posted on September 11, 2013, in Home Spa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

Clean, Cheat, Repeat

Eating clean or having a cheat?

Coconut craze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

Foood Post

My journal of foood musings and eating memoirs

Life of Bonnie

All the little things that make up my life!

Linda Creation

Food, in the end, in our own tradition, is something holy. It's about sharing, honesty & identity.

Recipes, Recipes, Recipes

My blog about recipes and cooking, topped off with a cup of coffee or tea!

Thistles and Kiwis

A blog about a Scottish woman, who lived in Denmark, and moved to New Zealand

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Suitcases and Lattès

Cape Town based Travel, Lifestyle and Wellness Blog

Chocolate'n'Waffles

Tea, waffles, and lots of books

Zara Speak

Mental freedom

