Salon Love


Hair and beauty

Hair and beauty

My husband just doesn’t understand me… and now I’m about to cheat…

Don’t worry – it’s not what you think. I’m still as loved up as ever with my fabulous Mr. D. The problem is that now we have moved house, he cannot understand why I still insist on trekking to the other side of the city to visit my usual salon.

“What’s the matter with you?” he asked exasperated, “we have a salon just down the road from us and you still want to go to your old salon!”

“Yes,” I replied equally annoyed, “because they know me.”

“So what? The beauticians at the new salon will get to know you too. I don’t see why it matters…”

And on and on it raged. Most men might not care who cuts their hair just as long as it’s done well and for a good price. Us ladies are different. We are very particular who we allow near our face, hair, nails and body. If they prove to be good, we will continue to use them no matter what the cost or how far we have to travel.

And it’s not only that but over time, we start to build a rapport with our beautician/hair stylist. They know what treatments we like; what products work for our skin and which don’t; how we usually have our hair styled etc. And of course there’s the bonding that occurs over the luxury pedicure. We talk; we tell them things; they tell us things; we share advice about things that aren’t even remotely related to hair and beauty. That’s why we keep going back to the same people time and time again.

 

And as I know only too well, good salons are really hard to find. I have had my fair share – and probably everyone else’s fair share  – of horror stories including the disgusting beautician who used window cleaner on my face (?) and the even more hideous salon owner who tried to cover up for her. So is it any wonder then, that when we find someone whose work we like and whom we bond with, that we make like Velcro and attach ourselves to them?

Over dinner with some of our friends the other night, Mr. D had a good moan to them about me traipsing for miles to get to my fave salon.

“Well,” one of my friends began, ” when you get used to a salon, you don’t really want to go anywhere else. That’s just the way it is.”

 

That told him! He even said that he overheard his female work colleagues talking about the same thing: that they would travel out of town to go to a salon that they really liked. I think he’s beginning to understand that it’s just what us girls do. However my friends did laugh their heads off when they heard that I was constantly emailing my hairdresser when I went on holiday – saying that I was taking the attachment thing too far!

 

So why is it that I’m now going to contradict everything that I’ve just said and visit a new salon that’s ten minutes from where we now live? Well it was Mr. D. who persuaded me to give it a go.  “Just go and see how it is,” he said. Furthermore however, it’s the weekend; I’m frazzled after a hard week, and I don’t want too travel too far for a well deserved facial and massage. But I am by no means abandoning my regular haunt – but it helps to have somewhere local to go to when I need a super quick pick-me-up.

So why do I feel so guilty? I feel like a cheating spouse! Does anyone else have salon issues?

 

Posted on August 23, 2013, in Home Spa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

Clean, Cheat, Repeat

Eating clean or having a cheat?

Coconut craze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

Foood Post

My journal of foood musings and eating memoirs

Life of Bonnie

All the little things that make up my life!

Linda Creation

Food, in the end, in our own tradition, is something holy. It's about sharing, honesty & identity.

Recipes, Recipes, Recipes

My blog about recipes and cooking, topped off with a cup of coffee or tea!

Thistles and Kiwis

A blog about a Scottish woman, who lived in Denmark, and moved to New Zealand

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Suitcases and Lattès

Cape Town based Travel, Lifestyle and Wellness Blog

Chocolate'n'Waffles

Tea, waffles, and lots of books

Zara Speak

Mental freedom

