Would You Mind Asking Your Bag To Stand Please?


Even though I’m known for being quite mild mannered, there are certain things in life that make my blood boil. One of them are the selfish passengers on buses and trains who feel that their bags – and in some cases coats – need a well deserved sit down at the expense of other commuters.

It’s even worse on buses where I find people tend to sit on the outer seats, which already indicates that they do not want anyone sitting beside them. If they have personal belongings, this will then be put on the seat next to the window. I understand that sometimes people prefer to sit on the outer seats because it’s easier to get up and leave when they arrive at their stop. But the fact that they’ve seen all these people standing and are still not indicating that there is a free seat beside them only tells me that they wish to have two seats all to themselves, which is just plain mean and selfish. I’ve even seen elderly people standing while someone with absolutely no manners occupies two seats.

And I’m sorry to say it, being a woman myself, but women are by far the worst culprits. How many times have I seen them place a dinky little handbag or gift bag on a seat as though the bag is so heavy that they cannot possibly sit with it on their lap or that it’s so huge that they cannot rest it on the floor? Worse are the ones with lip gloss for brains who on a packed bus or train will spot an available seat and then put their bag on it while they stand! Don’t they realise they’d be saving a little more space if they just sat down – or allowed someone else to sit down? I sometimes feel like asking if their bag has it’s own Oyster card.

It’s just another indication of just how far society has regressed. We live in what is very much a ‘me, me, me’ society. People only seem to think about themselves and what is convenient or suitable for them. Consideration, courtesy and concern for other people went out of the window a long time ago. It’s sad but true. Confronting such people about their selfish behaviour isn’t an option either as this just leads to a very public and very heated exchange as no one likes to admit that their at fault – even if everyone else can see that they are.

I’ll be getting on the bus today… and no doubt there’ll be at least one person who will make me see red. And I don’t mean the bus!

 

Posted on July 26, 2013, in Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

Clean, Cheat, Repeat

Eating clean or having a cheat?

Coconut craze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

Foood Post

My journal of foood musings and eating memoirs

Life of Bonnie

All the little things that make up my life!

Linda Creation

Food, in the end, in our own tradition, is something holy. It's about sharing, honesty & identity.

Recipes, Recipes, Recipes

My blog about recipes and cooking, topped off with a cup of coffee or tea!

Thistles and Kiwis

A blog about a Scottish woman, who lived in Denmark, and moved to New Zealand

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Suitcases and Lattès

Cape Town based Travel, Lifestyle and Wellness Blog

Chocolate'n'Waffles

Tea, waffles, and lots of books

Zara Speak

Mental freedom

